Recommendation and Medical card

garys

I'm new to this and have an early Feb. Dr. appointment. My question is, are the Drs. recommendation and medical card the same or do I pay the $160.00 for the Drs. visit and recommend then a seperate fee for the card? If it is seperate then where do I get or apply for the medical use card???
Thanks in advance for the help!

I'm in CA... Santa Barbara County.
I asked someone that said they had the card and they said that the recommendation was the same as the card. BUT, the card supposedly has your picture on it so how can that be the same???

Your recommendation also has your drivers license on it. You are given a copy to show the co-ops, which has a stamped seal on it, and another copy for your records.

Some of the clubs require certain cards, in addition to the recommendation. ALWAYS CARRY YOUR RECOMMENDATION WITH YOU. Recommendations always go along with showing your ID when entering, make sure to have it with you too. With counties still trying to implement their system of state ID cards, many, but not all, require them. In our area (SF Bay) we get a card called the OCBC card, which is additional and optional. This card is affectionately referred to as the "gold" card, or "green" card, and gives you many other choices of clubs. There are certain basic standards to go by, but after that, each individual club has the option to make other requirements.

The club I go to in Hayward has told us we need the county ID card, the OCBC card, recommendation, and their card too!!! Geesh! Seems very unfair to require someone who lives in a county with the id card to show it, when people in counties without ID cards in place are not required to show it. I think it's their business what they do with their club, but that ridiculous. Unstead of making a big stink about it, I found another club to go to.