pH issues - 1st DWC setup

TreemanMI

Hello everyone. I have my first grow going finally. 4 fem seeds in DWC 5gal buckets and 4 in a coco mix i made with perlite and verm. i have a lot of past experience with growing in soil but wanted to try the whole hydro thing... now i'm starting to get frustrated. . .

I planted my rockwool cubes into the dwc buckets once the roots popped out. I set the res pH in each bucket to 5.6-5.8. My Well water is pretty hard at 250-275 ppm with pH from 7.4-7.6. A lot of iron and calcium. I takes A LOT of GH pH down to get the water to 5.6. Almost three capfuls. Ive read a lot of good things about the DWC beneficial bacteria teA so I also added about 1.5 oz per gallon in each res too. NO NUTES yet.

Checked my pH after 24hrs and it was at 8.4!!! Is it the tea causing this? I don't understand how anything else could cause it if I have no other nutes added yet. The only nutrient in the tea was about 1st of ZHO powder that only has a tiny amount of N and is diluted to 1.5 gal when i brewed it. Also a little EWC but also very low N. My seedlings are only about 7 days old so I wanted to wait on adding anything else to the water. Any ideas? And please no " get RO water" and try that. My water grows great veggies in soil and its practically free!

Firstly, I appreciate the fact that you were the only person to reply to this and please don't be offended. However, your reply is the sole reason these forums are filled with useless text.

I don't have DWC or hydro experience, but personally, I would eliminate what's causing the problem, and look for an alternative.

I made this thread in the DWC subforum to get info from people that are the opposite of you...experienced in what I am asking about. A vague statement about something you have no knowledge of is a waste of kilobytes on the forum server and zero help towards what I am looking to solve.