First Try at DWC

OregonGrown79

So I am thinking about starting my first DWC and am looking for a little advice. I want to do 2 plants in flower while 2 plants are in veg, sounds simple enough! I am planning on doing a 500 MH for veg or possibly LOTS of cfls, haven't decided yet(I could use some tips here!) I am planning on a 500/750/10000 HPS for flowering, this is set. My questions begin with container size. Should I keep the plants separate or in the same container? I was planning on using 5 gallon buckets(1 for each plant.) Is there a better way? As far as drainage and refill I am a pipe fitter by trade so that's no issue! I have a 5x5x6.5 tent for flowering and will be constructing another "area" for veg. I have been lurking on here for a while and finally(now that it's "legal" in my state) decided to take the plunge! This will be mostly for fun and to keep friends and girlfriend in supply for fairly cheap. Thanks for any advice and pointers.
Oregon

I will try to answer what I can for you.

I am already doing what your talking about with more then one kind of plant and at different stages in the plants life.

I use free standing 5gal buckets. That way you can total control just of how much you feed each of them. (some like one thing some another)

If you are just growing for yourself. It is the best way to go.

If you also take clones before you send them into flower. You could have a perpetual grow. ei some in clone veg and flower at the same time. You would need two lights set on different times to pull it off.

I use LED in my setup and would recommend LED over clfs for veg. I like LED for both veg and flower because of the heat that HID puts out. Clfs does work good for clones. But I just put them in the corner of my veg tent.

I use GH 3part with z7 water treatment and a half a dose of hydroguard. With that setup I have not seen any mold or root rot and my buckets stay spotless.