Transplant help!

Slicknick909

I am a total newbie to indoor growing, lived in an area that allowed for outdoor growing for many years and now live in close proximity to neighbors. I do fear over watering but I do also only water when my pots feel as light as when they weren't being watered. That being said when I leave on business the wife has to water, this is where my cautious optimism occurs. All 6 of my girls are just over a month and about 4" tall now and are in 5 gallon basic plastic nursery pots. I have purchased 6 "air pots" the rigid plastic type not the fabric ones. I basically want to transplant as soon as they arrive BUT I am clueless as to what type of soil mixture to use for them. They are currently in basic organic soil that I "cooked" to 150F in my oven before planting. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

P.s. as for lighting they currently have 23w CFL 6500k lights about 6" from the top and will be transitioning to a Mars hydro reflector 600w equivalent in my 4x4x6' grow "box"

Sent from my Nexus 6 using 420 Magazine Mobile App

:welcome: to :420: Slick!

5 gal for a seedling is a lot of real estate. I'd probably just leave 'em where they are at this point. It is hard to know how far the roots have traveled and it will be tough to move the entire thing. I'd save the new pots for the next round.

Why did you cook organic soil?
If you are only under CFLs right now, I'd get them as close to the plants as possible, like 1-2" away.