CFL vs HID?

art fog

Dose anyone find that CFLs can be just as effective as HIDs (metal halide and hps) for plant growth when room temperature is balanced? I am using cfls 100w & 60w and light quality at 3200 - 5000k for vegetative and 5000k - 6500k for flowering (which translates to 1- 100w 2- 30w per plant). I am just going into flowering but everything appears to be growing well, the room is cooler and less electricity. I want to keep things simple besides i'm getting close to the same lumens w/ less watts. In the end I want a productive plant. I was told that HID would give me a better /more productive plant but I am not sure that is the case. The lumens seem the same the biggest difference is temp. I hope some one can shed some light on the subject and explain this to me since I am a beginner at this. Thanks:reading420magazine:

Dose anyone find that CFLs can be just as effective as HIDs (metal halide and hps) for plant growth when room temperature is balanced? I am using cfls 100w & 60w and light quality at 3200 - 5000k for vegetative and 5000k - 6500k for flowering (which translates to 1- 100w 2- 30w per plant). I am just going into flowering but everything appears to be growing well, the room is cooler and less electricity. I want to keep things simple besides i'm getting close to the same lumens w/ less watts. In the end I want a productive plant. I was told that HID would give me a better /more productive plant but I am not sure that is the case. The lumens seem the same the biggest difference is temp. I hope some one can shed some light on the subject and explain this to me since I am a beginner at this. Thanks:reading420magazine:

I've read that HID will be better grow lights for your grow. I use HID but not cfl's so I can't really say what the difference is from experience.

I can tell you that if you cruise around the journals in progress you'll see many many great cfl grows.