Bulb heat - Watts to Btu to Celsius Calculation

Fuzzy Duck

Been pondering over the above calculation to work out the average temperature a HPS/MH/HID may give off which we all know leads to heating the grow room up by X celsius/farenhiet.

Unfortunaly i'm not an maths expert so if any body with any knowledge on the matter could assist or point towards a correct answer would be greatly appriecated.

I have used these calculators so far...

Watts to Btu
Watts to BTU/hr conversion

Example - 400w = 1364 Btu per hour

Btu to Celsius
Convert Btu to celsius heat unit - Conversion of Measurement Units

Example - 1364 Btu = 757 celsius - that seems a lot to me & not sure how that figue is worked out yet might be some thing to do with btu per hour tho ?

So i divided 757 by 60 (60 minutes in a hour) to get an average temperature generated by a 400w bulb of 12 celsius - which i think might be a correct anwser ?

Thoughts, opinions & advice is all welcome :thanks:

Whilst thinking about all of this some other dimension may play a part in working some other stuff out.

1. Cubic volume of grow area & bulb size may effect total temperatures as small area will heat up quicker than a larger area which may stay cooler on average ?

2. Extraction fan reducing heat by air flow so that might be CFM calculation over BTU ?

Prehaps i'm thinking to much right now... i'll figue it out tho eventually.

Mmm 17 days...

Prehaps maths 'n' medication don't mix to well.

Good thing i was not asking huow much a 600w bulb heats up cubic meter volume of grow area as well... lol

lol I just found this post and I would like to know this as well as there was a bit of a discussion about it on one of 420fieds thread and TorturedSoul is also interested in this...maybe you should PM him the link to this thread....Actually I'll do it for you bro