Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree29Likes

Thread: Fox Farms Soil - Ocean Forest or Happy Frog

Fox Farms Soil - Ocean Forest or Happy Frog

hey everyone, i'm still learning about soil and reading the bags really didnt help me out. if anyone out there has an opinion on why one of these would be better than the other, i'd really love to hear about it.

i'm confident that both are fine, im just really curious as to the differences.

thanks!

Re: Fox Farms Soil - Ocean Forest or Happy Frog

Fox Farm is used by many soil growers on this site. If I was using soil, I would use the Ocean Forest mixed with 25 percent perliite.
    Plato420 likes this.

Member of the Month 3rd Place Winner (Dec 09') Screwnuts33's Avatar

I am currently using the Ocean Forest with great results. I added pearlite about 20% and 5% vemiculite to mine. Next grow I will likely do about 40% pearlite for better drainage late in the grow. I am not familiar with the Happy Frog. I believe Tiger Balm is currently growing with the HF.

thanks guys, much appreciated

I just started reading up on growing, and was wondering, if I were to use this soil, would I still need to add nutrients later? And if so, how long after starting?

Quote Originally Posted by BizarroStormy View Post
    I just started reading up on growing, and was wondering, if I were to use this soil, would I still need to add nutrients later? And if so, how long after starting?
    i'm by no means an expert here but my last grow was ocean forest and nutes were still needed/added.

im really just curious why Happy Frog is a bit cheaper than the Ocean Forest.

Member of the Month 3rd Place Winner (Dec 09') Screwnuts33's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by PhishyPhil View Post
    i'm by no means an expert here but my last grow was ocean forest and nutes were still needed/added.

im really just curious why Happy Frog is a bit cheaper than the Ocean Forest.
    PP,