Arkansas Medical Cannabis Act Reaches Deadline For 2014

The General

With the deadline to collect supportive signatures vastly approaching, the Arkansans for Compassionate Care group is counting signatures Sunday night in hope that they will have the legalization of medical marijuana on this year's November ballot. As of right now, the use of marijuana is illegal in Arkansas. "I think it would be a big mistake[ to legalize it]," Dr. James Bledsoe said.

"The Controlled Substance Act, passed in the 1970's, lists the cannabis drugs as a dangerous drug that should not be used for medicine," Dr. Bledsoe said. Dr. Bledsoe is a physician in Northwest Arkansas. He says the drug is not as proven as a medication as some may think. Dr. Bledsoe says he wouldn't prescribe the drug to someone today if it was legal. "As a physician, I have to be sure about what I am prescribing," Dr. Bledsoe said. "I don't want to legalize something, I don't want to go through the legislative process and bypass what we do with all drugs, going through screening through the FDA, clinical trials, and so on."

But, those who are for the initiative to legalize medical marijuana say they think it is proven, and possibly even safer than other doctor-prescribed medications. "I believe it is more natural," said Sidney Woods, who signed his name on the initiative. "You can't overdose on it like you can with some of the other medicines that are prescribed by doctors. And, it doesn't have any of the negative side effects that a lot of the medicines have."