Reform Marijuana Laws In Virginia, For Our Veterans

Katelyn Baker

As a disabled veteran, my choice to utilize the medicine that works for me makes me a criminal in Virginia.

My children, wife, and friends do not want that, nor do I. That is why I have been battling state and federal governments since 2013 on marijuana policy reform.

As a sailor stationed in Norfolk on USS Portland, LSD-37 in 2001, I sought help for mental health concerns. I was recommended by a Navy commissioned psychiatrist to be discharged due to my mental state. My chain of command on the ship overrode those orders and refused, instead keeping me in a toxic environment for myself as well as those around me. I was prescribed anti-depressants and anti-seizure medications for depression and suicidal thoughts, yet kept in a deployable status.

This second suicide attempt included the pills prescribed to me, this time by the Department of Veterans Affairs. I consumed more than 20 Lorazepam (Ativan) pills, and drank 18 beers. I have no recollection of the next few days of my life outside of what people told me happened. That was when I had enough and swore off the pills for my mental health, because they seemed to be the consistent issue with the suicidal thoughts turning into actions. My friends helped me quit the pills cold turkey (something ill-advised because you can have such severe withdrawals that you may die without weening yourself off), utilizing marijuana medicinally. The effects marijuana has is similar to Lorazepam for me, without the haze and zombie-like state.