Cannibal's AK47 & Mango Grow Journal - 2009

Cannibal

High All!

New (well, mostly) grower here. I've grown in soil before with good results, but bad luck (Florida 2004 hurricane season was a bugger!). This is my first attempt with a hydro system and I must say, I'm very excited. I am the caregiver for my girlfriend here in Colorado.

We purchased 3 clones from a local dispensary. Two of our girls are the well known AK47 strain (65% Sativa/35% Indica) and the other one is a Mango strain of unknown percentages. The Mango clone came in dirt, so her name is "Dirty Girl"; she's on the far right in the video below. The other two will be named after showing their own personality.

We are using a top-drip hydro system with a recycling reservoir. The reservoir is a 20 gal. tub that we have spray painted (outside) flat black. Inside the reservoir are two 5" airstones and a 140gph submersible pump. The pump feeds a 1/2" irrigation hose, from which 1/4" spaghetti drip lines feed the pots (2 lines per pot). The pots are Bato Buckets (Dutch Buckets) that sit above the reservoir on a PVC (Schedule 40) stand. They are black and measure 10x12x9. The back of the Bato Buckets drain into the back PVC rail and the solution then drains back into the reservoir.

I'm using a medium of coco coir, perlite, and expanded clay. The expanded clay covers the top couple of inches to prevent the feeding cycle from disturbing the coco coir and perlite, as well as to provide support for my young ladies. The coco coir and perlite mixture is approximately 60/40.

For light, we are using only a 400w HPS with a XtraSun reflector. This first grow will use the HPS for veg as well as flower. The next grow, we will be using a florescent set-up for the veg stage, but funds are limited and I felt the HPS was the best 'first investment'. I've been told that it will work fine. Guess we'll find out. It is running 24/7 currently and is about 2' above the girls.