First Grow - RQS Northern Lights Auto - 360W CFL

Weston

Hello,

I have been thinking about growing for years, but about a month ago I started to seriously consider it and so began researching. I decided to start off small and simple with a cfl closet grow and two autos. My goal is to harvest enough to last for personal use until the next harvest.

I figured signing up and starting a journal would be not only a good way for me to keep track of things but also to have something to look back on. I have no experience with growing of any kind and have nobody I can talk to for advice or help. Hopefully some of you guys can offer me your guidance along the way and help me deal with any issues that may arise.

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been gathering what is required and preparing my grow space. I will be growing in a closet measuring 162x74x46cm hwd. I painted the interior of the closet with reflective white paint. I chose cfl lighting due to limited space and lack of ventilation/heat dissipation. I have a 300w dual spectrum plugged into a ballasted reflector which I hung from the closet rail with adjustable rope ratchets - I can adjust the hight as needed. I also have two 30w full spectrum bulbs each connected to clamp sockets that I will place wherever light is needed. I will be using two 6 inch fans for air flow/cooling.

I will be using two 10 litre buckets that I have punched drainage/air holes in. I will be using simple multi purpose compost along with ionic grow and bloom nutrients. I will be growing Northern lights automatic from royal queen seeds. I've heard good things about the strain and I am hoping for a deep, relaxing high as I suffer from anxiety - amongst other issues.

As of writing this I am waiting on the seeds, ph up/down solution and a ph meter. All should be here within a week. If seeds arrive before ph gear I may take a chance and start the grow without them.

Thanks for reading. I hope you'll stick around and help me on my journey =)