Court Support in Los Angeles!

hpckush

We Need Court Support, because innocent people may go to PRISON!!

Pot factory found Tuesday, May 8th 2007
$4 million worth of plants found in Azusa building
By Frank C. Girardot, Staff Writer

AZUSA - Police seized as much as $4 million worth of marijuana and arrested two men Tuesday in connection with a pot factory on the city's western edge. Azusa police detectives served a search warrant on an industrial building at 844 N. Vernon Ave., Unit 13, about 2 p.m., officials said. Inside were between 550 to 600 pot plants valued at about $6,000 per plant, Azusa police Detective Chris Franks. "I've been a cop for 17 years and I'm amazed at how elaborate this was," Cpl. Rick Sanchez said. Unlike recent busts in the suburban San Gabriel Valley, the Azusa farm was housed in a cinder-block building surrounded by machine shops, auto mechanics and light industrial facilities. Paul Shaw, 35 and Charles Newcomb, 48, both of Azusa, were arrested on suspicion of cultivation of marijuana, said Lt. John Momot. The pair were being held Tuesday in the Azusa city jail. Inside, the building had been divided into five rooms. A surveillance camera kept watch on the front door. The first interior room, which was beyond a small reception area, housed some discarded sheet metal saws and a large compressor. A makeshift bed was propped about 4 feet above the floor. A computer with a large flat panel monitor lit a small chess board. A man's white tennis shoes were at the side of the bed. At the foot of the bed there was a small bookcase with a stack of "High Times" magazines and an instruction manual for setting up large-scale marijuana farms. The rest of the room was littered with ashtrays, bongs, and condiments like hot sauce and ketchup. Just beyond a door at the far end, another room housed about 250 pot plants in various stages of growth. The plants were watered using a drip irrigation system and kept at a constant temperature and humidity, Azusa po