A Question about clones/How many times can I clone?

rankamateur

WP_000072.jpg

Hello there people,
Just a quick question for you helpful people on here.
Lets say I have grown a plant from seed, I would call this first generation.
If I was to take a cutting from that first generation plant and produce a new plant with it (2nd Generation), how many times can i repeat that process (3rd gen, 4th gen, 5th gen)?

Just asking because I wondered how many generations before the potency/quality of the plant degrades?
Thanks for your help in advance folks.

Genetics remain intact when you clone a clone. You can clone a clone as many times as you want.

It becomes a problem when you clone a plant that has flowered and revegged. Once the plant goes into flower mode its genetics change and never go back.

Im no expert at all but i started with 5 seeds, given to me by a friend (totally blind grow), managed to germinate 2. So that was my first grow. Took 2 cuttings when they were just in flower, managed to reveg them, recently harvested those 2, but prior to flowering did it properly this time and took 4 clones off those. Anyway today took 6 more clones off several adolescents i have,. So as of today im on my 4th gen with a total of 12 plants thriving and 6 more clones

Learning all along but enjoying every minute, well most of every minute lol

Genetics remain intact when you clone a clone. You can clone a clone as many times as you want.

It becomes a problem when you clone a plant that has flowered and revegged. Once the plant goes into flower mode its genetics change and never go back.
Not true, just takes a lot longer. Just harvested 4 plants I grew from clones I clipped in November. Still very potent,female, and came up very dense. Literally had buds growing off the main stalk. No branches. You can flower the same plant more than once.