Advice needed -broke flowering light discipline

Joshua BenNun

Have one Dinafem Diesel, 4 weeks into flower, under 6 CFL lights on 12/12. Heavy with buds and trichomes, a few stigmas turning reddish, but should have at least 4 more weeks before climax. Last night an overhead fluorescent light was accidentally left on. Nowhere near as close and strong as the CFLs, but definitely exposed the plant to light throughout its dark period. For practical reasons, I can't just flip the light/dark cycle, so now plant is getting 36 hours continuous light before resuming its original schedule.

Everything I've read says that much light at the wrong time can completely stop flowering. Does it resume vegetative growth? If so, can it later, after completely adjusting to veg mode, be put back into flowering? Or am I better off just harvesting whatever is there now?

Hi Joshua,

Please understand that I am not an expert on this topic, but I saw your post and thought to share what I've learned from reading on this site. The short answer is I think your plants will be alright.

The info/logic to that short answer is that light suffers from inverse square law/rule. Basically, for every unit of distance away from a light you move the power from the light is reduced by the square of that distance. So a basic overhead light that proves sufficient for seeing in a room, but is several feet a minimum (I'm guessing) from your plants is providing very little beneficial light to the plants. Only you know the light/environment specifics, but if you would not expect your plants to grown solely with the overhead light left on, then that same light left on one night shouldn't disrupt their cycle too much if at all.

My suspicion is that your girls won't miss a beat.

Be well.