Anyone using baking soda as pH up?

magsteria

I've been reading some articles about a good pH up alternative and I've come across some pretty interesting information.

Seems like there's a lot of talk going on about baking soda and a lot are saying that it can do more harm than good towards the plant.
On the other hand, soda ash / sodium carbonate can be a pretty good alternative for the pH up.

If this is true, then won't it be better if (i quote):

"Sodium bicarbonate is CHNaO3 while sodium carbonate is Na2CO3. Simply heat baking soda or sodium bicarbonate in a 200°F oven for about an hour. Carbon dioxide and water will be given off, leaving dry sodium carbonate. This is the soda ash"

This is sodium carbonate. If you have any questions about the use of it as ph+
for growing just ask me. I've been using it exclusively for about six years now. I would never waste my money buying overpriced ph+ from grow shops.
I run three 600w hid lights and one of these bottles lasts me two or three years.
I don't talk about it that much because people on forums sometimes have a habit of silly soapbox freakouts if they see people doing things out of the ordinary.

I've been using baking soda or powder (i get them confused) for several grows and haven't noticed an issue. FOllowing this thread to see if maybe I should change...

I'll probably try and use baking soda first since it's easier to get. ln any case there would be some negative effects, i'll try the heating thing.

This is sodium carbonate. If you have any questions about the use of it as ph+
for growing just ask me. I've been using it exclusively for about six years now. I would never waste my money buying overpriced ph+ from grow shops.
I run three 600w hid lights and one of these bottles lasts me two or three years.
I don't talk about it that much because people on forums sometimes have a habit of silly soapbox freakouts if they see people doing things out of the ordinary.