Arduino based room controller

OG13

OK, I've had several requests on doing an arduino based room controller. I have been playing around for a few months now and have been bench testing one for a while. This tutorial will try to show you how I went about getting it all working. My controller is setup to monitor and log five different temperature probes, one humidity probe and a light sensor. It will operate two outputs based on these inputs (fans, pumps, dehumidifiers or whatever). I can view any of these inputs in realtime on a LCD display. I turn a knob to select which input I wish to view. I use the real time clock on the data logger to control relays for two different light systems (veg and grow).

What is an arduino? An arduino is a microcontroller (think mini computer) with analog and digital inputs and outputs, onboard memory and integrated communications protocol. You connect it to your computer (Mac, PC or Linux) and upload code. Once uploaded, the arduino can run autonomously.
I suggest you visit the authorized webpage.....Arduino - HomePage

What can you do with an arduino? Almost anything you can imagine. You can use it to monitor (analog or digital inputs), control (using external relays), log (onto a SD card), display (via LCD or touchscreen) and host (a webpage). Arduino - Introduction for more info.

You are wondering what you need to get started, right? Well at a minimum, you need an arduino (or clone), a cable to connect it to your computer, a breadboard, jumper wires and some LEDs and appropriate sensors. You can get all this and more in most arduino experimenter's kits. Check out these vendors (US based) for all you need.
Sparkfun https://ww.sparkfun.com/categories/103
Adafruit Arduino : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits