Best books on growing - Especially outdoor?

bryn

Hey all – this is my first year growing, and I'm learning a ton as I go, but I'd really like to find a good, comprehensive book on growing, cannabis plant biology, etc. I'm growing outdoors, and it seems like a lot of books are indoor/hydro centric... any recommendations for a good starting place, one that would apply well to outdoor cultivation? Thanks!

The question takes me back to buying my first grow book in about 1970. It was a mimeographed collection of about 100 pages with a canary yellow cover called "How to Grow Marijuana Indoors." They kept it under the counter at Seattle's Indoor Sun Shoppe (which is still around after going on half a century).

Anyway, to answer your question, a modern classic is Jorge Cervantes' Marijuana Horticulture: The Indoor/Outdoor Medical Grower's Bible.

But there is SO much info out there on websites and at YouTube that a book seems almost kind of redundant--except the editorial process might help to remove some of the folklore and outright BS that you find on the Interwebs... ;)

Looks great, thanks! I'll check that one out. Definitely a ton of info out there now (and much easier to access than in 1970! :) ...but sometimes it feels like it's almost tooo much, and yes, hard to tell sometimes what's accurate and what isn't. Sitting down with a good old-fashioned book and reading it straight through feels like a good way to learn things from the ground up, rather than just googling every time I hit on a new question/pest/problem. Thanks for the recommendation!

The question takes me back to buying my first grow book in about 1970. It was a mimeographed collection of about 100 pages with a canary yellow cover called "How to Grow Marijuana Indoors." They kept it under the counter at Seattle's Indoor Sun Shoppe (which is still around after going on half a century).