Breeders flowering times

Dusted

I wish there was some consistency in the flowering times listed by seed companies and breeders. I get it that a lot of people are impatient and want fast finishing plants, but to list a flowering time less than required to properly mature the buds is confusing. You can get a general idea of flowering time by the description of the sativa/indica ratio. The introduction of ruderalis genetics can give “fast” versions that aren’t auto’s which further confuses the issue.

I am presently growing a straight indica strain, which you would expect an eight week flowering time for. The breeder lists 55 days. I’m looking at my plants at day 42 after flipping to 12/12 and there is no way they will be done in the time listed. I go to the breeders website, find the strain review, and after reading it came to the conclusion they start flowering time two weeks after flip.

Maybe this is well known and I’m just a noob about modern genetics. I always harvest when the plants tell me to, but it can throw off my two grows per winter if a strain drags on forever finishing

That's a pretty standard practice

And every plant is different, yer environment plays a huge Roll in the time schedule as well

Plus phenos of same plant can be way different in times and schedule

So lots of factors for sure

Most just use breeders Time as a guesstimate at best

Counting flowering from the time you flip the switch is inaccurate.

There is no switch in an outdoor grow. How would you count the days? You wait for flowers to show and then start counting. Flowering times are how long it takes the flower to finish after it emerges. Not how long you waited for it to start and then finish flowering.

Counting flowering from the time you flip the switch is inaccurate.