Buying Equipment and Lighting in Online Stores?

Purple4280

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. I'm thinking about getting started in hydroponic indoor growing. For the past couple weeks I've been lurking around some forums for tips on how to get started, which has been super helpful. You guys have a great community! But there are a ton of different opinions out there. I'd love your advice on a couple questions.

- I've seen a lot of great deals equipment at online stores. Is it better to buy stuff online or at a local store? For most of the stuff I buy outside of toiler paper, I'd rather buy it on Amazon.com if I can. But growing is very complicated and my local store was very helpful when I visited to check out their selection. What do you guys think? Is it worth saving a bit of money by buying stuff online? And do expert growers still go to stores?

- It looks like lighting can get pretty expensive. Does it matter if I go with expensive or cheap lights? Does the brand of light make a big difference? Which brands make the best products? There are so many light brands and I have no idea how to tell the difference!!! When I buy a bottle of wine, I can't tell the difference if I pay $10 or $20!

Thanks a million!!! :thanks:

Hello and welcome,

If you know exactly what you want and don't care about support and service go with Amazon. If you like your local folks support them. If you want to save money, be safe and have it delivered... try 420Magazine's vendors. These folks have paid their dues to be here and support their products.