Conservatives Should Support Medical Marijuana

Truth Seeker

I am a 16-year veteran of the Air Force, a conservative Republican, and I have never used marijuana in my life. Because of those three facts, some were surprised when I decided to sponsor SB 409, a bill that would protect seriously ill patients if their doctors recommend marijuana.

But what we're trying to accomplish with this bill is perfectly consistent with conservative principles. My colleagues and I have worked hard to ensure that this bill will create a responsible, limited policy, one that will protect patients and their families but not open the door to fraud and abuse.

Fortunately, there are several examples of states with medical marijuana laws that do not create negative publicity. Seventeen states plus the District of Columbia allow medical marijuana. A few states have taken a route that allowed unregulated dispensaries, and one - California - allows medical marijuana for any and all conditions.

Senate Bill 409 does not copy any state's law, but it resembles the laws of Vermont and Maine much more closely than the laws of California.

Our neighboring states' laws are not causing problems or sparking federal intervention. They are simply protecting the seriously ill.

Drawing a firm line
Our bill requires genuine, serious medical need and draws a firm line between medical and non-medical use. The role of the state is simply to issue ID cards to qualifying patients and, in some cases, their caregivers. ID cards protect the cardholders from arrest, and only four mature plants are permitted for each patient.

In addition to ensuring that only patients with truly debilitating conditions may qualify, SB 409 would not allow dispensaries, a change that caused the Department of Health and Human Services to withdraw its longstanding objections to the bill. This year the department has worked with legislators to improve the bill language, and the input has been greatly appreciated.