Diameter of pipes?

Sith

I'm new to this forum and have a few questions regarding a grow I'm planning to start within a few days. Sorry if my english is a bit off when it comes to the terms, but I'm doing my best. I live in Europe.

I've been growing in soil before, so I'm not a complete newbie, even that it was for just under a year.
Now I'm planning to start a quite large grow in hydro. I'm envisioning a vertical grow in pvc-pipes, or some other suitable material. I've seen a video on youtube DIY Indoor Vertical Hydroponics System - The HydroVert 80 Spot System Build - YouTube
I'm thinking of a similar system, just that I want the pipe to be continuus, with bends to make it go back and forwards from top to end if you can understand what I mean.

But I wonder what would be a suitable diameter for the pipe. I'm going to grow Jack Herer, White widow and some other medium sized plants.
I can imagine that the pipe in the veg room would be a bit larger in diameter than the pipe in the bloom room..
I will move the clones to the bloom room as soon as they have set roots.

So, what would be a suitable diameter for the pipes in both rooms?
I also wonder what would be a suitable distance between the holes in the pipe for the net pots, and how large the holes should be.

I would really appreciate some informed answers to these questions as I will start the grow within a week or so. Any info on this from people with personal experience on this would be great, I would also welcome links to resources on the subject.

I don't know for sure, but it seems to me I've seen mention of 2" & 3" pipe being the most common. Bigger is better I think for more root mass and easier water flow. Go too small and you'll possibly be subject to bad flow clogging up the pipe by root mass.

Thank you for your answer, have read your reply earlier, but haven't really had time to post some more..