DIY Cabinet Grow - My thoughts and questions

hobosteeze

Hello farmers!

I'm new here, but hopefully you'll be seeing me around as I prepare to build my own DIY grow cabinet! I have had some experience growing in the past; mainly outdoors, but now that I'm becoming an adult I've decided to build a more legitimate grow room for myself.

Stealth was a very big priority to me; my goal was for something that would blend in to my home office. I also wanted a well contained area in the hopes to better control humidity and temp. I wanted at least a 600w HPS running and hoped to have about a 3x4 grow space.

Here is what I've come up with so far:

Front.PNG

side2.PNG

Using this design, it allows me to fit an area between plywood and maple wood with sound proofing material to hide any fan noise, etc. This DIY cabinet gives me everything I need!

Heres where my questions start with my purposed set up:
I've decided to purchase a 600w kit (lower end kit, but intend to upgrade within the next 9 months and use this kit in a veg cabinet). I will be using an air cooled hood and a Carbon filter kit for smell.
I will be growing 6 plants, ending up in 5 gallon buckets. My plan is to mainline my plants and use a scrog net to help with structure and organization.

I had intended on building a space bucket before I decided to take the leap for this project and I was planning to build 5 CFL's into the buckets lid... something like this:

w1SutkT.jpg

Would it be beneficial to my grow to use two 5 CFL lids to get different angles that my HPS is missing? I understand that that is a little of a ghetto rigged set up, but I have them so I might as well look to use them!
(Considering swapping those out with LED panels in the future to get a better spectrum)

Anyways, I wanted to post here to share my design, get some feedback, and ask some questions!

More important, I'm glad to say hello! I hope you all are staying medicated out there! :volcano-smiley: