First Time Auto, OG Kush, Shallow Water Culture

Jazz Cabbage

420 Member
Seedstockers supplied OG Kush Automatic. 20/4 although I am considering switching to 18/6.

This is my first time growing an auto, up until a few months ago I didn't even know there was such a thing! To me Automatic cannabis is like when CD's first came on the market, I was like, where have you been all my life.

4" pot filled with expanded clay, sitting in the middle of a 30L tub sitting on top of another 30L tub with the nutrient solution. Hi powered pump (accidental overkill) sprays jets of water into the side of the pot all in a circle. Holes in the bottom of the top tub allow nutrient to fall back into the reservoir, however due to the volume that this pump can handle there is a continual shallow pool of water at the bottom. Pump is on for 15 minute every hour.

Light: Viparspectra PAR700W. Started at 50% W, gradually increased to 100% W and 100% Blue then added 10% R. From the third week I have been running 100% on each of the red white and blue channels, and after much mulling it over, I have decided to leave it at full power all the way through to the end. Although that is not set in stone. In a space in the laundry with 3 plastic walls making a 2' x 3' grow space, with one side open and a fan blowing across the top therefore no exhaust obvs.

GH Flora series, PPM 550, tap water was already at 140, no other funny business. Will prolly refresh nutrients and up to 700 tomorrow. Mixing at ratios suggested on bottle for grow period, although at a lower than recommended strength.

Seed popped up on Monday 24th Sept, manually removed the seed coat the next day which I am counting as day one. Currently nearing the end of week 4. No sign of the sex pistils yet which is rotten news regarding my master plan which was to bake my brain while celebrating the birth of the sweet baby Jesus.