First time grower and new to forums!

Bigpappa1983

Aloha everybody. I am from San Diego, CA. Not only do I have a recommend, I am taking my first venture into growing....My current set up is EXTREMELY ghetto, and mostly hand made. I'm in about a 28"x36" grow area(half of my sliding closet.) I am using for right now(due to extremely tight monetary restraints) 3 X 120 watt plant grow lights(home depot) in 10" clamp light reflectors all right next to each other pointing down. Currently also using an organic soil mixed with perlite.(50/50)

I am more interested in responses about the plants, being this is my first attempt( and only having had a recommend for 3 months) I am just not sure if they are healthy, the seem to be but there are small things that concern me. Photos will be added very shortly.

I am also planning on building a sort of hydro system...i am pretty handy and and innovative.....ohh and a side note, I was wondering is it possible to have a manual ebb and flow system....basically where i fill up and drain my self through out the day. What I am wondering is how often would it need to be done? every 4 hours? every hour? Also in that type of system what would be the best medium for growing? I was thinking the hydro-clay(i think) since it does expand and hold water nutrients, but I am open to other input, tending time is not really and issue so I am not worried about that.

Anywho any and all input is appreciated. I will have photos up as soon as i get home from work.

Currently I have 3 about 1-1.5 month old(bought as clones) Purple Kush X White Widow plants

and I just added 4 new clones(1 week old for me)
Skywalker OG
Extreme OG
Chocolate Rain
Purple Train wreck.

Welcome to the best cannabis-awareness site on the Internet!