First time grower! Updating every week - Help me improve

tylert16

Hello all,

I am a first time grower. I drew my inspiration from a few friends who grew in the past and were successful. I am growing (indoors) a power Africa strain (sweet seeds) which was crossed with a kush male 2 generations down. Since this is my first time growing, I am looking for advice to improve my skills and overall creating a better product. I created a grow box out of a old dresser. It is about 3ft tall and about 1.5ft wide. It is not the most optimal grow box, but it's a start. I am also in the process of buying some mylar to put up around the inside of the box.

The soil is Gardener's Pride all-purpose potting soil which has composted forest products, top soil, sand and perlite in it. For the fertilizer I am using Miracle Grow water soluble tomato plant food (18-18-21), which I mixed 1/2 a teaspoon in a gallon of water to dilute it.

I germinated the seeds by wrapping them in a damp paper towel for about 48 hours. Some of the seeds began to grow roots, while others are still struggling. I took one of the seeds that had grown a root about an inch long and planted it into the soil I listed above. I also sprayed the soil with the diluted fertilizer prior to planting.

I am using different CFL lights I found around my house, a total of six bulbs. I am plan on keeping lights 18 hours on and 6 off until flowering, then, I will probably do 12 on 12 off.
(3) 18w 1200 Lumens 2700k
(3) 20w 1200 Lumens 2700k
(114 watts total)

The lights are only a couple inches above the cup that I planted the seed in.

I have been keeping track of the temperature and humidity inside the grow box. The temperature has been staying steady around 32 degrees Celsius and the humidity at 26%.