First Timer - Soil Water & Nutes

Herbshuttles

Hey guys, I've done a good amount of research and am just about ready to get started but I'm brand new to this so bare with me. Im growing purple kush and crown royale indoors in 7 gallon plastic pots (7gallon each with drainage holes and saucers all that). Wanted to know what brand or type of soil to use, and pH levels and all that. I'll have a pH and water measured for the soil, and I was planning on using General Hydroponics Nutrients and following their chart but I learned that if you have soil you don't need nutrients. Anybody can speak on this? Also, Any brand of water you guys recommend ? Thanks in advance for any help, much appreciated!!

Also, any brands of fertilizers to use along with the nutes would be a great help .

re: First Timer - Soil Water & Nutes

Hi HS -- Even though you say you have done a good amount of research, it sounds to me like you would benefit a lot from waiting a little bit and spending some more time reading and watching YouTube videos. I would also strongly recommend reading grow logs here about the strains you are interested in. (Or any grow log for that matter at this point.) That should very quickly answer a lot of your questions.

There is a HUGE amount of great info out there just a click or two away. I suggest that you avail yourself of that first, and then as you start to develop a plan that looks like it's going to work for you, come back and ask specific questions or search in the more focused forums (hydroponics for example).

To answer your questions, though:
  • Fox Farms Ocean Forest + 30% perlite is a popular soil mix.
  • pH of about 5.5 to 6.5 is good for cannabis, with a some variation depending on if you are in soil or hydroponics.