Fluttershy's First Try - LED - Soil - Grow Tent - Total MMJ Noob! - 2012

Fluttershy

Hi all, :Namaste:
I've finally decided to delurk to keep track of my grow results.
As of today, I'm still in the planning/thinking/absorbing stages, but I've got everything planned out at least. Except the plants. :yummy:

1) I want to start with one plant, maybe two. Gotta pick a strain. Sigh. I'm thinking an autoflower might be easier to start with?

2) SOFTWARE:
I've had lots of experience container gardening vegetables and other edibles, so that's what I'm comfortable with.
Soil: Ball Professional Growing Mix + worm castings (40+ qts + 4 qts)
Containers: 5-gallon food-grade buckets with drainage holes.
Nutes: Fox Farm lineup - already had these for outdoor tomatoes, so there you go.
I plan on starting with 25% of the FF feeding schedule amounts, every other watering.

3) HARDWARE:
Grow tent setup: Got a 3x3 HydroHut Silver which is REALLY big for my needs. In the winter, I'll be putting some herbs and plants in to overwinter. So far, rigged with a 6" inline fan + carbon filter can set on a box on the floor, and ducted out the back into the basement.

So there we are. Been testing the environmental conditions with the setup in place (no containers yet):
Current temp with venting: 70 F
RH with venting: 46%

Temp without venting: 80 F
RH without venting: 55-60%

I have a no-light ceramic heater lamp I can rig up to a temperature controller if need be. Conversely, I may hook the fan up to the temp controller, or else just vent periodically.

So, off to go check the mail for my seeds and try to pick a strain.

Photos to come! :peace:

Re: Fluttershy's First Try - LED - Soil - Grow Tent - Total MMJ Noob! (2012)

Sounds great, look forward to photos :)

I've turned off the fan for now, but I'm still monitoring temps. It's about 73F on the floor and 79F further up. Wonder if I should start running a little fan to circulate the air within the tent? :hmmmm: