Grafting Sativa to tomatoes

gloman

:peace:hi everybody! i'm pretty new around here but i've been growing my own off and on for about 40 yrs
back in the 70's i did a bit of indoor growing and got in to dabbleing with cloneing, with some pretty good results.
where i live now, we don't have mmj approved yet but i'm out in the country in the middle of illinois.
my question, is this. i once was told that tomatoes are a sativa strain. and i was wondering if a person could succesfully graft some high grade weed to the tomatoe plant in an effort to discuise a little personal grow? GOHRILLA farming as it were.
has anybody heard of such a thing here?:thanks:

thanks for your intrest! i know i'm certainly intrigued by the idea. when i herd about this, i was told that the tomatoe part of the plant would remain tomatoe and the grafted weed part would remain weed.
if no one has any input for me on this to the contrary, i'm going to try it next season for sure, as i can't do any indoor gardening at all till illinois gets their heads out of their butts and passes the use and cultivation of medical marijuana.

It probably could be crossed with tomatoes. I read an article about a decade ago where a botanist in Florid I think it was crossed cannabis with oranges and it worked. He got into some trouble though. But it would be a great way to introduce edibles to the public.

I heard somewhere and have someone swearing they ate a tomato that had been pollinated with Marijuana pollen and it had produced thc. Anyone know if there is any truth to this or is it just a myth?

:circle-of-love:well, again, this is just what i was told many years ago, but i was told that the two plants would retain their original charictoristics. tomatoe would remain tomatoe and weed would remain weed.

now correct me if i'm wrong but if the two plants are fairly similer, wouldn't the real problem just getting a good graft?