Help - Cloning from plants I purchased

angelag

I am new at this... I purchased some real nice plants from a friends brother a few months ago.
They are doing super well and have grown more than a foot since I've had them.
My friend's son works with my friends brother, (so his uncle).

I had told my friend the other day that I gave a few clones to another friend of mine who is legal to receive them.
My friend then freaked out (but she didn't say anything to me) and went right to her son to tell him I gave
clones away (off her brothers, his uncles plants). My friend's son then told her that I cannot be cloning his uncles plants (my friend's brother's plants).

My friend and I then got into an argument over it as I explained her brother never ever said that I could not clone his plants! I told my friend her son did no know what he was talking about and that I want to talk to her brother about this myself. Her brother never contacted me... But, my friend still thinks that I should not be cloning her brothers plants.

My friend is not knowledgeable in this area... And then started throwing in words, like patent, copyright, etc.
I just want to get this settled once and for all! I would like my friend and her son to know that was they are saying is totally NOT TRUE! And that I CAN CLONE and do what I want with them, as I purchased the plants and own them myself!

I've been searching the internet for anything related to this type of disagreement, but can't find anything.
I would think "the brother" would have specifically would have told me not to clone if he felt that was important.

I've never heard of not being able to clone peoples plants.. As I've only been growing 4 plants since May 30th.
Any info. on this would be great!!!