Help With First Grow Harvest

zurple

I am at day 64 of flowering and I believe we are getting close. I have 2 plants of 2 different unknown strains started a week apart in veg, but same length of time in flower.

You can see some pictures I posted this morning in my grow journal and setup is also shown in my signature.

I am at 1600ppm and staying at 5.8 - 6.1ph. Tent humidity at 40%

I have read conflicting information during my search for harvesting. Everything from 36 hours in the dark and flushing or not and etc.

On plant 1 there are milky trichomes and they are starting to curl, milky but no amber. On the 2nd plant is very milky and several said she should be ready to chop, even without the amber. The amber trichome debate is even more confusion.

This is my first time growing and it has been easy and fun. My main goal with this bagseed was to do a test run from start to finish before I use seeds that I purchased.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I have to go dark before harvest? Having 2 plants without an alternate location makes this a challenge, unless they're both ready.
  2. My ppm is 1600, so should I taper it off, or just use ph'd water only to force them to use their stored energy? I may chop this weekend.
  3. Should I wet trim or dry trim as a first timer? I was going to remove all the large stuff, dry it, then clean it up dry.
I know this information is out there, but it's conflicting and thus making it a challenge. My assumption is that everyone does it different and there's really no wrong way if the plants are ready.

Real exciting times, your first harvest. The dark cycle before harvest and cutting out the nutes are to me a shock therapy that tells the plant time is up so finish now or not at all, I do both. The trimming is a matter of preference. You will have to try both ways to see which you like. Myself , I like dry trimming, those frosty sugar leaves and popcorn buds are ready for some infusion at this point.