Help with new light build for 4x4 tent please

DezmondG

Hey everyone. I hope I am posting this in the right section. I am newbie as this is my first time growing. I have a 4x4 tent to grow in and I just got my 4 clones on Saturday (Bubba Kush). Only thing I have right now are 2 LED tubes sitting above them which seems to be ok but I need to get myself a light for veg/flower. I would love to build one on a budget that will work for maybe a couple of grows so it will give me more time to build another better one.
I have read a fair bit and watched YouTube videos. It is still a bit confusing. I can solder and build a frame for the lights no problem there but I need help with a shopping list for lights, drivers, etc.
I don’t need to get the best of the best. If you guys could recommend the items I would need that would be a great help. In return I would like to document the build and post it on here for all the other newbies. Again this is my first grow. I’m not looking for high yields (yet) but would like something that will do a decent job.
Thanks all,
Dezi

Perfect, makes what I am going to tell you much easier lol

These COBs are cheap as dirt, no driver required and great for a starter light and for veg. I am actually waiting on heat sink paste to finish a 9 COB light for my nursery using these chips.

6C7C48F4-BFE4-4B9F-80D7-4A40F82ECEBF.jpeg

A5895A18-23AC-41A3-A384-D3AA2F5BB4C8.jpeg

You can find them on AliExpress for about $2 each but will take about 2wks or more to get. If you plan to use them for flowering, you will want 1per sqft (16 of them) but they can be made in separate circuits so they don’t all have to be run at the same time.

Capture.JPG

Install them on decent heat sink material, using scavenged heat sink from and old LED light I bought when I first started. If your heat sink has 3/4” tall fins, you will want about 4 square inch of surface per chip.