How Many CFL Lights for 2 weeks grow

Nature80

Hi,

I use a 600W hps light for my grow room, but I'm going to try a 12/12 from seed and would like to have a couple of plants ready before I harvest my current grow. Seeing as plants will be shorter and more compact I'll have to put in a few more than now, and I've come to a conclusion to setup a simple CFL grow box. The problem is, I have no clue about CFLs etc.

I'm buying 8 x 23 watt (2700K) lights (total of 160 watts) and I want to use this for the first 2 weeks of plants' lives, straight from the seed. I've never used CFL before but read that you can get the light very close (1-3 inches) to the seed, which is exactly what I'd want as I can't risk getting tall plants due to my hot light.

Something that'd look like this is what I had in mind - https://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQVy8CWwO9sQBHjTtBD35oye5oeDi-6zYDeLEsZ4GvzDXlbJRpa1VGcPqq6

Basically, I just want to give the plants great 2 weeks of the beginning, and am wondering if 8 x 23W is going to be enough.

Dimensions:
Height: 130cm
Width: 50cm

In there I'll put 12-16 small pots that'll be enough for 2 weeks, and then I'll relocate them to "the real deal", which is the grow box. I just don't want to put them there immediately cause they'll stretch. Is 2 weeks enough for them to be ready for 600w, or could I perhaps transplant them to 5.5L in the grow box sooner?

Thank you so much for help!

:welcome: to :420:

im not blessed with allot of cfl knowledge ,but your in the right place..

If you want to grow with CFLs, I suggest a minimum of 100 watts per plant in Veg, 150 watts per plant in Flower. Make sure you are counting actual wattage, and not the *Incandescent Equivalent* wattage listed on the package. (antics)

u can try this thread.
The Basics Of Plant Lighting