How to Control DWC Scrog Stretch and Density

Happy Jack

Hi Folks,

Scrog/DWC newbie here, looking for advice on training/trimming a DWC scrog grow. Is this the best place to post my question? If not, I'm glad to post in a better place.

My problem is the plants are growing fast and thick in the DWC and, at week three in bloom, are getting really thick, and stretching above the screen. I'm not sure what to do--trim, defoliate, nothing?

I have 2 Mars-Hydro Reflector144 s in each of two 4x4' tents, 4 plants per tent, each in a 17 gallon tote, using the GH cannabis schedule, and the growth has been fantastic, as the photos show. Tent 1 has the faster growing plants, and looked like tent 2 a week or so ago!

I'm a bit overwhelmed, and wondering what to do. Advice, encouragement, etc, greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Tent 1 -- Master Kush on the Left, Pure Power Plant on the Right
20160702_011042.jpg

Tent 2 -- Wonder Woman on the Left, Black Jack on the Right
20160702_011126.jpg

They have been trained. Re: How to Control DWC Scrog Stretch and Density

It's a little late to start training the plants for a scrog screen.... Read my led scrog grow.... Better yet google; "Scottyballs pineapple express seed to harvest"... That's the thread that converted me to scrog...

Hi Dr Fish,

Many thanks for joining in and your suggestions.

Those plants are trained for scrog, below a screen 5" above the totes, now hidden by all the vegetation. He's a photo from two weeks ago--the plants were flipped to bloom cycle 3 weeks ago:

20160615_025651.jpg

I did train the plants for scrogging, using "LBH's Famous ScrOG Tutorial". The primaries and secondaries were all trained below the screen. Unfortunately it seems that the schedule with DWC is much faster than the soil that LBH used, and it looks like I flipped too late--the shoots are stretching above the screen, as is obvious. ;)