How to grow no till style in 65-100 gallon Smart Pots

Cloudydreamz

420 Member
OK first things first I've had about 3 years of indoor growing experience using coco coir and Botanicare nutrients. I build my own DIY cob lights and I have to say I'm a very good at what I do indoors. But I'm not very experienced with outdoor or organic growing and that has to change.

I'm in the middle of closing on a house with 5 acres and I can't do indoor there except maybe a small tent to start my seeds and clones for outdoor this year. I should be on this new property by April 1st or soon after. I'll be growing at 6500ft in Colorado and my last frost is on May 19 so I'm going to shoot for May 20 as my in the ground day. I have to cut no later than Oct 10, Now here's what I think I'm going to do and maybe you guys can help out with the details.

The soil mix per 9 cubic ft :

1 part Roots Organic 707 blend(1 bag)
1 part Malibu compost Bu's blend(3 bags)
1 part Wiggle Worm EWC(3 bags)

To that I will amend with:

Bio-live 5-4-2@1/4cup per gal=15cups
Kelp meal 1-.1-2@2-3 tbsp per gal=8cups
Neem seed 6-1-2@1/8cup per gal=7.5cups

I will mix this up, make EWC tea and add Imo2 and LAB(korean natural farming) to the tea, I will then spray my soil blend down with tea and cover with a tarp so it can age about 30 days.

I will then fill up my Big Fabric pots with the soil and plant some clover or spread straw. Hopefully by May 20 my seeds(Germed about 3/15) will have rooted good in 10 gal pots and are knee to waist high or more.

Im Planting May 6-20 no matter what!
Im going to make EWC and compost tea and feed them that once a week.

After that I'm not really sure what to do because I've never grown with a pot I couldn't pick up or with organics. Here is some questions that if answered, could really help me and alot of other people out:

1) Do you guys think this soil recipe is good for no till? Would you change it or add anything to it?