How to speak to my doctor about MMJ

blknazn

ok quick breakdown.

I have had these back pains from an old injury around 2003 after a few years a came across cannabis as a pain reliever. ive been using it regularly for the past two years.

fast forward to now

i got in a car crash and have aggravated my back.my doctor mentioned i have minor scoliosis(curvature of the spine), the pain is so much that street cannabis isnt cutting it. and i cant afford it. my doctor subscribed me novo naprox. it been a couple weeks since and i get headaches and upset stomach now, and it only takes the pain away for up to 4 hours.

my question is.. how do i bring forth the subject of medical cannabis for myself?

when i speak to my mother, she says my pain isnt enough to be a patient. also my doctor knows the cannabis works for me. i told him but he laughed and said it wasnt really a medical use. i also have severe depression since i was a kid, my mom doesnt believe me that the herb helps she wants me on pharma drugs. can i have some advice please? thanks in advance:thanks:

Two things:

First, only you know how much pain you have to deal with. Second, your doctor isn't the final say seeking treatment. He/she is there to give their educated recommendation and there are certainly multiple ways to treat ailments.

I'd first recommend educating yourself as much as possible before sitting down with your mother or doctor again. Knowledge is power. Many people still maintain a bias against marijuana because of its "drug" classification. If you remain mature about it I'm sure they'll open up to alternative treatments.