IL: A Chicago Lawyer's Journey From Mortgages To Medical Marijuana

Katelyn Baker

It turns out a law degree is just as helpful in launching a medical marijuana business as it is dealing with mortgages.

Charlie Bachtell was general counsel at Chicago-based mortgage company Guaranteed Rate when the lawyer in him became captivated by Illinois' medical marijuana law. He left mortgage banking and today the 38-year-old is the CEO and co-founder of medical marijuana company Cresco Labs.

As he stood among the drying plants in Cresco's Joliet growing facility, Bachtell talked with the Tribune about why he switched careers and what it's like combating the stigma surrounding the industry. The interview has been edited for length and clarity.

Q: How did you go from working at Guaranteed Rate to running this huge operation in the medical marijuana industry?

A: Jokingly I tell people I was an attorney in the most scrutinized and regulated industry in America from 2007 to 2015 and now I'm an operator in the most scrutinized and regulated industry in America from 2015 going forward. It's just a different subject matter. Arguably I'm a bit more passionate about this. While I liked mortgages, you're not helping people deal with nausea from cancer, and you're not part of a cultural shift. You're not impacting the criminal justice system in the way this program allows you to.

Q: So you were instantly hooked?

A: It took (the co-founders and me) about 24 hours to get totally hooked on what was going on in this country when it came to medical cannabis. When we took a look at the law when we were still at Guaranteed Rate, this read like they're looking for professionals with legal, medical, finance backgrounds to help develop a true medical program in Illinois. The idea of helping develop that was really cool to us.

Q: Did you ever think when you were in law school that you'd be doing anything like this?