I'm fairly new to making cannabutter, have any suggestions?

Ibspot

I started making cannabutter mid summer last yr after being diagnosed with moderate to severe emphysema. Too many yrs under a welding hood to thank for that. I'm currently making butter with whatever buds I can get from a long time friend. He always has the best around. Living in Oklahoma, medical cannabis was passed in June of last yr, so I can't go to a dispensary and know what I'm getting. Not yet any way but that day is soon coming.

I bought a decarboxylator off of ebay after trying to use a toaster oven a couple of times. I decarb 3 gr of buds at a time for a small batch. I use 2 oz of salted Land of Lakes butter as I read it has a higher burn point than unsalted. I use a crock pot set on "keep warm" (so it doesn't get too hot). I have a small mason jar I put the mix in and put it in the crock pot with enuff water to cover the jar half way, and let it cook for 3 hrs.

It comes out pretty good I think but its the only butter I've ever had so who really knows. My usual dose is 1/2 teaspoon in the morning, same early afternoon. As long as its not a stressful day, the dose in the morning gets me by all day.

One of my questions is : Is there a better formula (if you will) of 3 gr of buds to 2 oz of butter? I wish I knew the thc content of my buds but that will have to wait I guess. So far, I have tried several strains : Gorilla GLue, Candyland and Sour Diesel.

Another thing is this. It seems the butter has the opposite effect of smoking it. By that I mean, its like the indica boots me up and the sativa parks my butt on the couch. Is it just me or am I more stoned that I realized? Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Decarboxylator sounds like a fancy word for oven. :ganjamon: