Initial trimming and enzymes

Adk5252

420 Member
Hello all - I am a new grower and would like to get some feedback regarding initial trimming of my plants . My plants are 4" tall and haver roughly 6 leafes on them , I have been told I should trim back some of the leafs to make the plant bushier ?? not sure if that's an old wives tale or the actual truth. ??

Additionally - as I am new to this , I have been reading about enzymes , my plants will be moved outdoors at the appropriate time , are enzymes still required to obtain maximum growth.

Additionally , I will be moving my plants outdoors, as I live in the north east what would be the coldest temperature my plants could handle outdoors ?

Thanks all............

Hello all - I am a new grower and would like to get some feedback regarding initial trimming of my plants . My plants are 4" tall and haver roughly 6 leafes on them , I have been told I should trim back some of the leafs to make the plant bushier ?? not sure if that's an old wives tale or the actual truth. ??

Additionally - as I am new to this , I have been reading about enzymes , my plants will be moved outdoors at the appropriate time , are enzymes still required to obtain maximum growth.

Additionally , I will be moving my plants outdoors, as I live in the north east what would be the coldest temperature my plants could handle outdoors ?

Thanks all............

First and foremost, Welcome to our little community of the forum :welcome:

Most people top their plant to make it grow wider rather than taller. Topping is usually done between the 3rd and 4th node of the plant when the plant has 5 nodes (sets of true leaf branches).

Now, this has some caveats. First, if growing an auto-flowering plant, topping is done between 14-21 days after sprout. And only if the plant is growing well. If a photoperiod plant, you can top and not worry about stunting its growth for a short time.