Inline fan noise

geteed

Can anybody give me an idea of how loud an inline fan will be? Size would only need to be suitable for a small 1 or 2 plant grow cabinet. I am currently using 2 cooling fans for an A/V cabinet, not the quietest but can be covered up by running a standard box fan in the same area.
I am trying to keep noise levels to a minimum but would like to possibly add a carbon scrubber so I need to have a little more power in the fan.

Thanks

I'm in the same boat with you man. All people seem to say is buy a 6 inch inline fan and then buy a ac fan speed controller to lower the voltage which makes the fan quieter and moves more air than a 4 inch.

I have been planing a grow for about 2 years now. The only problem is I need it to be absolutely stealth so no noise no light no smell. For me its hard to get a cheap quiet fan that is powerful enough to be used with a carbon filter.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using 420

My 6' centrifugal fan is 45dB at 1m distance, through a carbon filter. When I close the tent, you can barely hear it. My ambient sound from the outside is 60dB. Measured with an Android app. Axial fans should be even quieter.

How is your centrifugal fan hooked up? I'm not familiar with them.

Edit : Sometime this weekend I'll get some app to measure the sound in my room. It won't be hella accurate, but I'm curious.

How is your centrifugal fan hooked up? I'm not familiar with them.

26_07_4.jpg

Here are a few suggestions to quiet the fan down...