Andersvalide

Hey all,

I'm from Belgium, new to this forum and about to start my first grow ever. (noob warning!)

I wanted to grow just one plant since it is for personal use and I'm just curious how it all works.
I'm planning to grow in a old cardboard box from my printer which is about the size of a desktop.

The problem is that I'm just a student and I'm working with a budget. I think I have all the material I need, but I'm still struggeling with the light. Since I'm growing in a cardboard box I want to use LED lighting to reduce heat problems. All the growing LED lights are to big for my box and I've found some LED strips which may work?

bol.com | 2* 5 meter LED strip, verlichting, RGB, compleet 401564

These are 2 LED strips of 5m (16.5 feet) with 72W so a total of 144W. I can cover the whole upper side of the box with these LED lights.

Do you guys think this is going to work? Or are there other suggestions? Maybe those 1 bulb grow LED lightings, but they are just 20W or so?

Thanks

Hi Andersvalide -- Strip LEDs is a clever idea, but you will need much more of them to do the job. Cannabis will grow with just a little light, but it will give disappointing yields unless the light is like a sunny day--very bright!

Some suggestions: If you want to use strips, make sure that the "watts" specified is the actual watts (power) used, and not just the watt rating of the lights. For a true 72 watt output, the power supply will need to be delivering 6 amperes at 12 volts.

Also, make sure you are getting "white" LEDs, not a strip of colored LEDs that add up to white.

I think a better bet for a box would be to use multiple LED light bulbs from the hardware store, which you can place around the box to get even lighting.

Consider a dwarf plant. I'd recommend something like a Dwarf Low Flyer, a feminized autoflower that can take 24 hour a day light if you like.