Lighting questions

tk86high

Hello , This is my first time to Post on this site and my second time even using a forum , as the last forum i used roll it up. org was very unprofessional , and the people very judgmental when u simply asked why and some even insulted u lots of egotistic people there. With that said I did some reading on this site before i Joined and It seems to be way more of a respectful site with better legit answers , Im hoping to make this my new home for my grow questions or issues.

So first order of business , This is my first grow , and everything seems to be going great.
But had some questions about the lighting periods and lights in general .

1. Do plants need direct sunlight when outside? So say 2-4hrs no sun on my balcony and then 5-6hrs direct sun would that be cool?

2.what If I do 8-9hours on my balacony * of course on sunny days only* and then the other 7-8hrs inside my grow tent lighting ?

3. As of right now im doing a 250W MH during my inside hours , when is a good time to switch to my 400W HPS? 2-3 weeks after sprouting ?

Thanks for any help in advance and hopefully on this forum I wont get any insulting comments or rude replies .

Re: Lighting questions.

howdy Tk,welcome to :420:.
direct is best but your girls will be ok with a little shade.
and yes the balcony for half the day is groovy to, but there is a small chance you can shock them if you bring them out in direct sun from inside.
as far as when to switch to the hps is up to you, how big you want your plants, how antsy you are to harvest and so on.
some folks here go to a 12/12hour schedual from the start.
I use a 400w hps from start to finish as long as I only have plants that started at the same time and are the same strain. but I also have flos as a supplement. so what are you growing?
check out my grow if you like:)
one other thing, you have an ugly big toe:rofl:

howdy Tk,welcome to :420:.
direct is best but your girls will be ok with a little shade.