Marijuana and finding an acceptable balance

jack1986

Too much of anything can be a bad thing. And I can certainly speak out of experience that this is the case for weed. I've been smoking for about 10 years and while it used to be at "acceptable" levels, I do feel it's gotten a bit out of hand. So the goal of this thread is to get some tips to smoking at acceptable levels and also perhaps trying to figure out how dire my situation is.

What is "acceptable levels of smoking"? In short, your smoking should not:
  • Affect your social life (in a negative way)
  • Cripple you financially
  • Mess with your head (or affect your overall mental health)
In the first 2 years I smoked 1 joint every other day. Which for most people is probably already too much. This eventually built up to one every single day. Which eventually lead to a point where I could easily smoke 2 - 5 grams in a day (4 - 10 joints a day). This is obviously way too much. Not only do I need to smoke a lot more to even feel anything (due to tolerance building up), but I also don't get a quality high and I end up smoking way more than is needed. Which means I am wasting money. This becomes abundantly clear if I quit for only 1 week. And to make matters worse, I mix tobacco with my bud, which I assume is worst than smoking bud only. (correct me if I'm wrong?)