Medical Marijuana - Q&A With Sue Rosen, RN, Legal Liaison

Katelyn Baker

Nurses are now getting involved in the hotly debated matter of whether to legally allow access to medical marijuana (MMJ) for all patients. Sue Rosen a RN CLNC, Associate Editor and Legal Liaison for the American Cannabis Nurses Association is leading the charge to make medical marijuana available to more patients and today she's taking time out to answer some questions.

Celeste: How did you get involved with the American Cannabis Nurses Association?

Sue: As a nurse, I advocate for the patient. The United States patented cannabis for its neuro-protective benefits and according to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 2014, 1.5% of the children in the U.S. were diagnosed with autism. Children with autism and Dravet syndrome, a rare genetic epileptic dysfunction of the brain, are finding relief from these tragic anomalies by using CBD (cannabidiol) derived from marijuana and hemp plants. How could I, as a professional registered nurse, ignore the evidence? I made a decision to be an activist for the safest care because I have witnessed it without any doubt.

Celeste: What do you say to those who oppose medical marijuana and choose to ignore the evolving research?

Sue: In 1972, Richard Nixon wanted a larger budget for his war on drugs. He thought if he proved cannabis caused lung cancer (like cigarettes), he would prevail. He gave the Medical College of Virginia two years to study the effects of THC on the body. Results? THC ingested in highly concentrated forms (i.e. cannabis oil) attacks mutated cells in the body while strengthening and rejuvenating the healthy cells. When Richard Nixon saw the results, he threw the entire report in the trash and deemed the study classified. We only found out about it a few years ago thanks to dedicated medical and law professionals who filed Freedom of Information requests.