Multiple Sclerosis by Michael Miles

Julie Gardener

Multiple Sclerosis by Michael Miles

I am a 23-year-old college student who has multiple sclerosis. I was diagnosed with MS a little over two years ago, at the age of 20. During that time I have gone through many problems ranging from mild symptoms to complete (albeit temporary) paralysis. I have tried many of the prescription medications to treat my disease. None of them helped and many of them made me feel worse than ever before. Several of the drugs, specifically the painkillers, caused me to have intense hallucinations and frightening side effects that occasionally sent me to the hospital.

The only thing that has proven over and over again to help me has been cannabis. With cannabis I can be a full time activist working on making medical cannabis legal in the state of Ohio and the nation as a whole. With cannabis I am able to be a full time college student with a 3.74 GPA. With cannabis I am able to enjoy and experience some sort of normal life for someone my age.

It is frustrating that this plant isn't legal. My life is completely different when I have access to this medicine versus when I don't. I have found that when I go any length of time without it, I start to suffer from the more severe symptoms of MS. Although I walk with a cane much of the time, when I go without cannabis for a week or longer, I am unable to walk at all. The last time I went two weeks without it, I was stuck in my bed, screaming from the pain, unable to eat, and unable to move. I owe my life to this plant.

Some people say that it is simply because I am getting high that I feel this way, I assure you, and nothing could be further from the truth. While I do experience some sort of "high" from smoking cannabis, it is not how many people envision it.