Multiple tents on one fan

newbee1234

good evening peeps,

quick question for yous regarding exhaust fans. im planning a set up of 3 1.2x2.4x2 tents and am planning the exhaust layout my question is this.

by my calculations i need to move 172.8 m3/hr of air per tent and i have a Gekko 250mm 2500m3/hr acoustic box fan now i know that adding carbon filters reduces the flow rate (by around 25% ive been told) but can i use this fan and put a 125mm carbon filter in each tent and link them up using reducers to one 250mm feed to the fan or would this put the fan under too much strain?

i need this size tent to maximize space and help control smells and heat. this will be my second grow im currently doing my first and using it as a learning curve for my large set up, im planning on using Wilma type set ups in each tent as i really fancy a bash at hydroponics so any help or tips with home built Wilma systems would be most useful

cheers guys and girls

:Namaste: :thanks:

I am no expert in air movement by any stretch of the imagination, it would be best if an HVAC guy was able to post his thoughts to get a better answer to your question, but until one shows up I will tell you what I know. If your number of bends in both tents from the filters to the fan were the same at approx. the same length, it should work so long as your fan has the ability to pull that much air. Air flow is reduced with every bend in the ducting and like water, air takes the path of least resistance. so if one tent has a straight shot to the fan and the other tent has multiple bends to get to the fan, the majority of air pulled out by the fan will be through the tent with the straight shot.
Hope this helps, as to how much reduction per bend, I am not sure as to the percentage but I do recall each bend reduces efficiency pretty dramatically.

DSC_072015.JPG