My drug test strategy

Yoginator

420 Member
I work as a CDL driver subject to annual and random drug screens. So this has caused me to smoke very little. But with the proliferation of edibles Im thinking if I ever busted a test Im going to claim I was at a gathering with tables full of food and only after I ate a couple of brownies was I informed by the host that they were contaminated with pot. Oops.

Oops, you have a nice long break from work, lol? It looks like, if you are subject to DOT testing rules, you are actually expected to be responsible for your own body. It also looks like it's legally out of the business owner's hands when a positive result occurs, you're supposed to be benched immediately. And to be required to complete the DOT Return to Duty process. I'd guess that to include counseling, "education," and the ability to produce a clean specimen on demand. I'm guessing the insurance would require all that anyway, assuming the employer uses one (or the company bean counters, if the entity is self-insured).

Probably a little less leeway in the trucking industry than if you were to fail a test while working at Bud's Burritos, where the boss could (in theory) just toss the results.

I am not a truck driver, and could be wrong. But if I was a truck driver, I'd have something a whole lot more substantial to pull out of my hat... than an excuse. I mean... You know what happens if you're drunk because you weren't aware that the bartender was mixing your drinks extra strong, and you get pulled over by LEO? Yep - you still win the DUI :rolleyes: . Receiving assistance is not the automatic DQ that it would be in most sports :rofl:.