My first grow - Any advise appreciated

h1ghpr13st

Greetings all :Namaste:

This is my first time growing. I have been lurking around the forum for the past month or so soaking up all the information I can get to ensure success.

I have built two grow boxes, one for veg and the other for flowering. They are 2' x 2' x 5', with 2 MH lamps in the veg box (500w total) and 2 HPS in the flowering box (500w total).

I went to the dump and grabbed 4 UPS cooling fans (not sure about their cfm), but they move quite a bit of air. One each for exhaust and one each for air flow inside the boxes.

I am currently germinating a Greenhouse seed's Green-o-matic auto. I soaked the seed in water for 24 hours and put it into a coir peat plug yesterday. Keeping my fingers crossed that it pops up a seedling.

Once it does, I will put it under a cfl (5600k, 23W) lamp for about three weeks before moving to the grow box under MH lamps.

Now my questions:

1. After the seedling pops, I plan to leave it in the coco plug for the 3 weeks that it will be under a cfl. After this I will pot it, plug and all, into a mixture of cow manure, vermicompost, bonemeal and perlite. I don't have access to most of the various growing mixes that you folks in the States and the UK have, so this is all I could buy. What do you think of this mix? Will I need to use nutes at any point in the plant's life?

2. Do I need to use any nutes for the three weeks that the seedling will be in the coco peat plug? I understand that the coco plugs are neutral (?)

3. The pH of my water is quite high (from a well about 100ft deep), so how do I drop it? I do not have access to the pH up & down products. Is it ok to use vinegar/ baking soda (depending on whether it needs to be raised or lowered) and let the water stand for 24 hours before watering my plants?

Will add pix of the grow to this thread as time progresses.

Thanks all.