Newbie First Grow - How Does Flowering & Budding Start?

BikerBear

Hi Folks,

This is my first grow, and my girls appear to be doing quite well. They were started from seed on 5th April. All look healthy, and are about 12" tall. All are in soil, in a grow tent, under LED grow lights (2x) of approx 100w light equivalent. The other 3x lights are 100w equivalent LED 6500k Daylight Bulbs. All lighting is currently on 24/7.

My newbie question is... does flowering/bud formation occur automatically? Or do I force the budding by changing the light schedule to, say, 18/6?

I have been reading the FAQ's and the "How To" guides on this fantastic forum, but as a beginner I find all of the information to be a bit overwhelming at times (not complaining at all).

Thanks in advance!!!

:thumb:

re: Newbie First Grow - How Does Flowering & Budding Start?

If they are photo period plants then you will need to switch your light schedule to 12/12 to start them flowering. Theoretically a photo period plant will stay in vegetation until it sees this light cycle.

If you have autoflowering plants, then it makes no difference what the light schedule is, they will begin flowering as soon as they are mature.

:thumb: This is when the fun starts!!

If they are photo period plants then you will need to switch your light schedule to 12/12 to start them flowering. Theoretically a photo period plant will stay in vegetation until it sees this light cycle.

If you have autoflowering plants, then it makes no difference what the light schedule is, they will begin flowering as soon as they are mature.

:thumb: This is when the fun starts!!

How do I determine whether I have autoflowering or photo period plants??? See, told you I was a newbie!!! :)

:cheesygrinsmiley::cheesygrinsmiley:

How do I determine whether I have autoflowering or photo period plants??? See, told you I was a newbie!!! :)