No choice! Must transplant outdoor plants planted in the ground to pots, aeration garden pots

michelleskoviak

420 Member
I have several outdoor plants growing from the ground outside from germinating and planting them up until now in which they have been flowering for about 4 weeks now. The tallest one is just over 6ft. tall and the others are about 5'9" tall. They have 2-3 weeks more of flowering is what Iv'e been told (this is my first time growing) and they are also becoming very top heavy as some branches filled with buds seem like they might break . The reason they have to be moved is because I have to move a.s.a.p. and I can't leave them there. Please help with any advise that will be useful. My location is out in Los Angeles; I'm naming my location to give you an idea of my climate, I think that would matter. Thank you in advance!

I'd wrap them up with sheets, dig them up without disturbing the root ball, and move them into fabric pots or whatever you have handy. The most important part is keeping all the soil around the roots. When we do this with shrubs at the greenhouse we wrap the top snugly with a sheet, then dig it up, go out as far as the drip line - then bundle up the rootball in another sheet of something and carefully carry it to your pot. If you end up trimming off roots with your shovel, not a problem at that stage of growth. Sometimes a root pruning is even better as it can induce flowering as the plant thinks it's life is coming to an end. Make sure you have a few inches of new clean soil at the bottom of your pots. Wrapping the top keeps everything snug and safe from breakage. Water them in the pots well right away, then add more soil if it settles. Shouldn't set them back more than a few days. Sometimes it actually encourages them, like I said, to frantically try to flower before season's end.