Notes from the Mad Scientist's Kitchen

Baked Bear

This worked for me. I am not an expert. You have been forewarned.

hardware required:

1. One-quart canning jar with lid and seal. Mine is an antique that me mum was gonna throw away because she didn't need it. It has a wire latch and a glass lid with a rubber gasket to seal it.
  2. Crockpot/Slow Cooker, big enough to hold the sealed jar and still put the lid on it.
  3. Washcloth
  4. ~1 pint (volume) of old vapings (technical term, anybody?)
  5. 1 stick of butter.
Grind up the vapings in an old coffee-grinder. Be brutal. I use the settings for 12 cups (more time) and espresso grind (even more time). This should reduce your leavings to a powdery consistency. It takes up surprisingly little room once it's been "powdered".

Carefully transfer your "powder" to your canning jar.

Add 1 or 2 sticks of butter. One worked for me, but it would have been acceptably potent had I used two. Seal Container.

Place washcloth in bottom of slow-cooker. Place sealed jar in slow-cooker on top of washcloth. Add water until the jar just begins to float.

If any part of the washcloth is exposed to air there's not enough water in the pot (so add some). If you have filled the pot to the brim and parts of the washcloth are still dry, remove the jar and washcloth and pour off much of the excess water. Then carefully follow these instructions:

1. washcloth in the slow cooker first.
  2. Put the canning jar in the slow-cooker, making sure the jar is on top of the washcloth this time!

Turn on slow cooker and put the lid on it, to slow the escape of steam. Wait ~24 hours, checking frequently to ensure your contraption hasn't boiled dry. Add water to prevent this, but only as necessary.